Umpiring: It pays the bills

umpireGrowing up, I played baseball all year round.  Coming to college I though that I would never again get to spend my weekends at the ball fields; i was wrong.  I met someone down here who was in the same situation that I was in, expect he had got on with the umpiring association down here.  I needed some extra money so I thought it was a great idea.  After attending all of the required clinics, I became certified and started working.  After the first game I knew that I was in for something totally different  from what I was used to, I was now on the other side.  Growing up, I knew that umpires caught grief, but I had no idea it was as bad as it truly is.  Every play is argued by the side that does not come out on top, and there is usually a fan in the crowd who has something to say about everything that happens, even if nothing happens.  The players, to my surprise, are the most agreable people on the field, understanding that I have to call it how its is, and not everything can go there way.  This experience has helped me grow in some areas that I think will be beneficial for me in the rest of my life.  I have learned that you cannot please everyone and you are going to have to deal with some unhappy people.  I have to not let the attcks that are thrown at me effect my attitude or my calls.  It is a very stressful environment, but it is far from overwhelming.  I have developped a sense of pride in my work because every call that I make can change the outcome of the game.  It is constantly in motion so you have to stay on top of your game.  That is the only thing that has not changed from the game when I was a player, and the Saturday mornings at the ball field, which is what I was looking for the whole time.

Leave a Reply

